The Psychopath Test

Once again, my all too familiar admission – an admission of negligence.

Neglecting this blog, it appears, is my favourite pastime.

Laziness, or at least deciding to not write, is always easier than that extra hour awake late on a week night after a long day at work to commit some half baked, half cocked and half developed idea or stream of consciousness to page.

But, when i’m not writing, I need to remind myself that the words committed here are not a waste of time That they contribute to my ability to feel comfortable expressing myself, comfortable shaping words the way I want them on the page, not leaving them stuck in my head like some sort of literary constipation…. 

My reading has also suffered of late. I’ve started a number of books; Morrissey’s altogether too flowery Autobiography, a couple of books from my Daunt subscription, Ben Goldacre’s Bad Pharma and another couple that slip my mind – but have been unable to get into them in any real way. 

John Higgs amazing tale of cosmic synchronicity and a band who operated at the faultlines of a generation – The KLF: Chaos, Magic and The Band Who Burned a Million Pounds – was an amazing story which captivated me enough that I actually managed to finish it. 

Jon Ronson’s Psychopath Test I also enjoyed. 

He reminds me of Louis Theroux – seemingly naive, either totally brave or totally stupid. His account of a meeting with Noel Edmonds, which appears in another of his books, is one of the funniest things you’ll read.

The Psychopath Test does what all good books should – it makes you question the way you think about and lead your life – certainly how you judge others, how you approach problems and situations, and most importantly how you approach other people.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Psychopath Test

  1. iamamro says:

    Which book is the Louis Theroux meeting with Noel Edmonds?

    I can’t stand Goldacre. Purely personal animus, I’m sure the book is wonderful (I doubt it).

    Always good to read your posts. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

